Fifteen Countries Move to Common Currency

Fifteen Countries Move to Common Currency
Fifteen Countries Move to Common Currency

Fifteen African countries continue to work for common money.The draft study on the use of a common currency among the member states of the West African Economic Community (ECOWAS) was completed.

Jean-Claude Brou, co-head of the joint currency commission, told reporters that a comprehensive meeting will be held in June on the draft study, which aims to switch between the member states to the common currency.

The central bank of the member countries, the economy and finance ministers and the leading companies operating in the region that will participate in the company Brou, the common currency is very important in terms of common market and comfortable travel, he said. The joint currency system is expected to be approved by the heads of state in 2020.


Center for Africa Studies (AFRAM) which located in Ankara, is an organization facilitating under the administration of African Affairs Council (AFAC). It makes various researches about Africa to enhance economic and cultural bounds between Africa and Turkey. AFRAM’s publishings has been shared with different institutions as they require to obtain.


Africa Observatory is one the publishing of AFRAM and it has been published each two weeks. It has been delivered to different institutions via e-mail.

Photo Source